Yearbook – Quick Updates

We have a lot of exciting features to introduce to the yearbook this year. These past months have been a bit of a struggle – I only had a team of 3 people. Ms. Mora, our teacher supervisor, and I have tried to pull some more people together to make it work out but I see a lot of benefits in a smaller group as well.

Nevertheless, I am so grateful for the 3 other people who decided to join and have dedicated their time to help out with the planning. We were able to establish a clear theme and direction for the yearbook. The new people in yearbook pick up new skills quite easily and communicate with me so the collaborative aspect is going really well.

Screen Shot 2017-03-04 at 8.20.26 PM.png

My personal interest board to keep track of learning new graphic design skills

Although I am in charge of senior pages, those pages are fairly uniform and not nearly as much fun as designing events pages. As I have done in the past, I always use events pages to develop new skills and to experiment with skills I have learned already from last year. Unlike last year, however, I’m glad I am taking initiative to combine my Photoshop skills with my InDesign skills and work on both programs regularly (whereas I used to just focus on InDesign before). Sometimes, it still baffles me how much you can learn in such little time. For these past few months, I learned many new functions in Photoshop even though I have been using it for 6 years!

Screen Shot 2017-03-04 at 8.43.39 PM.png

Glimpse of UN Day spread; combining fonts and pictures to make meaningful spreads

Stay tuned for a final update and more eye-catching designs in April, when everything will be finalized for print!

Leave a Reply

