MUN – Conference @ Cinnamon Lakeside

MUN was hard to follow through with. They changed the dates this year which crammed every practice debate and event into two months, and with very little preparation while juggling schoolwork at the same time, I had lacked any enthusiasm to sit down and focus on it. It also killed my confidence in speaking when I didnt have enough research, sometimes I couldn’t find the right time to speak up on an issue. The practice debates were helpful in understanding the core of what committee is concerned with as the Third Committee of the General Assembly,  dealing with Social, Humanitarian & Cultural Affairs and human rights issues: we looked at women’s empowerment; drug trafficking & the black market; and the  sex tourism industry. 

(PHOTOS © XTREAMYOUTH PHOTOGRAPHERS)

Nevertheless, MUN was a very interesting and important experience for me, in terms of researching and attempting public speaking. I prepared lengthily for the final conference for the big topic of: dissecting transitional justice and its implications with regards to social development. I learned a lot about this complex topic a lot through different reports and through the lens of my country which helped me improve my researching and synthesizing skills. I learned a lot from the way people spoke and it helped me understand how to approach a topic and how to talk on a subject in a diplomatic manner.

(PHOTOS © XTREAMYOUTH PHOTOGRAPHERS)

I think I will consider trying MUN next time as a delegate again, learning my mistakes in time management, or perhaps find some other way to expand my public speaking skills, maybe by assuming more leadership roles in the future. Although I still have many doubts about speaking in front of so many people, this was a huge step for me personally.

IMG_5613

iconic low quality selfies © Amasha’s iPhone

 

Leave a Reply

